“Disorderly conduct is a petty disorderly persons offense under NJSA 2C:33-2. It carries penalties including up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $500. In addition, if convicted, you will have a permanent criminal charge on your record.”
Disorderly Conduct Lawyers in Hoboken, Morristown, East Rutherford NJ
“Scroll Down to see the defense strategies for your case, including our Top 5 Ways that you can beat any criminal charge in New Jersey.”
This page is designed to be a landing page for disorderly conduct charges in New Jersey, and to provide information to people looking for a disorderly conduct lawyer. Please look through the resources below, and learn all of the ways that you can potentially beat your disorderly conduct charge.
What is Disorderly Conduct?
Getting into a fight, yelling obscenities, or making lewd gestures can be a crime in New Jersey. These types of behaviors can fall under the broad disorderly conduct statute enforced by police and prosecutors throughout the state. Sction NJSA 2C:33-2 of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice criminalizes “improper behavior” that causes public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm, or a recklessly causes a risk of such inconvenience, annoyance or alarm. The law specifically mentions fighting, threatening, or engaging in violent or tumultuous behavior. It also explicitly mentions creating a hazardous or physically dangerous situation by taking an action that serves no legitimate purpose.
The disorderly conduct law also prohibits using coarse or abusive language in a public place with the purpose of offending or with disregard for the probability of offending others under the circumstances. A “public place” is defined as a place to which the public or a substantial group has access. Some examples of locations considered public include: highways, transit facilities, schools, prisons, apartments, businesses or theaters, or neighborhoods.
Consequences of Disorderly Conduct Charges in New Jersey
Disorderly conduct is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense in violation of NJSA 2C:33-2(a). This is a relatively minor type of criminal charge; in fact, it is the lowest level criminal charge we have in New Jersey. That being said, it is a criminal offense and if you are convicted you are facing a fine, potential jail time, and a permanent criminal charge on your record. A disorderly conduct conviction can carry a fine of up to $500, plus additional court costs and assessments. You may also be sentenced to up to 30 days jail.
The important thing to determine is whether or not you are charged with a criminal offense for disorderly conduct. Some municipalities have enacted ordinances called disorderly conduct as well. If you are charged with a local ordinance (also known as a borough ordinance) violation for disorderly conduct, this is not a criminal charge, meaning it does not entail the same penalties as those described above. An ordinance violation just results in a fine and no criminal record.
Do I need a lawyer for disorderly conduct in New Jersey?
It is highly advisable to have a lawyer who is experienced at handling disorderly conduct charges if you have been accused of this offense in New Jersey, as the consequences of conviction can be serious. Our NJ disorderly conduct lawyers have been handling these charges for many years. In fact, some of our attorneys used to prosecute these cases for the State of NJ and now defend our clients facing the same charges. We frequently appear in courts throughout NJ handling disorderly conduct charges including in Hoboken, Morristown, East Rutherford, and Newark. Contact our offices now for immediate assistance at 201-556-1570. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
Other Related Pages
Disorderly Conduct In NJ – Information Regarding Penalties and Defense
Disorderly Persons Offenses In NJ – Information Regarding Penalties and Defense
Petty Disorderly Persons Offenses In New Jersey