New Jersey Prostitution Charges & Penalties
“Although prostitution is a mostly victimless crime, New Jersey prosecutors will come down hard on anyone charged with prostitution or solicitation in NJ.”
Prostitution is one of the most vigorously prosecuted sex crimes in New Jersey. Not only will you be looking at significant jail time and heavy fines; you could also end up with a sex crime conviction on your permanent record. Worse yet, the easy ability to access public records online means your prostitution conviction could follow you for the rest of your life. If you have been charged with a prostitution offense in New Jersey, the best way to avoid the most serious consequences is to enlist the services of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Whether you’ve been charged with prostitution, solicitation, lewdness, or any other sex crime, the Tormey Law Firm can assist you. Our criminal defense attorneys have handled countless sex crime cases in Bergen County, Hudson County, Passaic County, Morris County, Essex County, and throughout New Jersey. Travis J. Tormey, our firm’s founding partner, previously worked for two of the largest criminal defense firms in the State of New Jersey. He also served in United States Attorney’s Office in Newark, where he worked closely with the sex crimes unit of the federal prosecutor’s office.
Mr. Tormey and his team of highly skilled criminal defense lawyers are prepared to fight for your rights. We understand that your case needs to be handled with discretion, and we have the experience and the knowledge needed to fight your NJ prostitution charges. For a free consultation about your case, call 201-556-1570 to speak with an experienced prostitution defense lawyer. You can also email us to schedule a free consultation at one of our convenient office locations.
Defending Prostitution Charges in New Jersey
Prostitution and Promoting Prostitution Law: N.J.S.A. 2C:34-1
A person can be charged with prostitution when they engage in sexual conduct with another person in exchange for money or a fee.
A more serious form of prostitution is promoting prostitution. Anyone who knowingly promotes prostitution or compels another person to engage in prostitution is subject to enhanced charges and significant penalties. If an individual knowingly promotes prostitution with a child under the age of 18, the penalties can be severe. Moreover, it does not matter if the offender knew that the person was a minor.
What are the Penalties for Prostitution Charges in NJ?
Prostitution is typically classified as a disorderly persons offense. A conviction for disorderly persons offense prostitution can result in up to 6 months in county jail and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, keep in mind that a conviction for prostitution can stay on your record forever. This can be humiliating and do serious damage to your personal and professional relationships.
A more serious charge for promoting prostitution is usually classified as a third degree felony. A conviction for third degree promoting prostitution is punishable by a sentence of 3–5 years in New Jersey State Prison. Moreover, if the offense involved a minor, the charges can be elevated to second degree promoting prostitution; a conviction could potentially result in a sentence of 5–10 years in state prison.
Contact a Hackensack NJ Prostitution Attorney for a Free Consultation
The Tormey Law Firm is prepared to defend you against prostitution charges in New Jersey. We will make sure that your case is handled discreetly so that your good reputation is not harmed. If you have been charged with prostitution in Bergen County or anywhere else in New Jersey, contact us today. Call us at 201-556-1570 to discuss your case over the phone, or email us to schedule a free consultation.