Can I get out of a Disorderly Conduct Charge?
Fight Disorderly Conduct Charge 2C:33-2(a) in Morristown, Hackensack, New Brunswick NJ
“Scroll Down to see the defense strategies for your case, including our Top 5 Ways that you can beat any criminal charge in New Jersey.”
There are a number of things that an attorney can do for you in a disorderly conduct case that you probably won’t be able to do yourself. While this page and video focuses on negotiations to downgrade your NJ disorderly conduct charge, there are ways that we can have the case dismissed entirely. Be sure to watch our other defense strategy specific to disorderly conduct, and also read through our Top 5 Ways To Beat Any Criminal Charge series.
NJ Code of Criminal Justice section 2C:33-2, prohibits behavior that results in alarm, annoyance, or inconvenience to the public. The statute also prohibits behavior that recklessly generates a risk of public inconvenience, alarm, or annoyance. According to this law, making threats, fighting, or participating in tumultuous or violent conduct can constitute criminal behavior. Causing a physically hazardous or dangerous situation when your conduct has no legitimate purpose can amount to criminal disorderly conduct.
Furthermore, a person can be charged with disorderly conduct for using abusive or coarse language in public. “In public” is defined as a location to which a substantial group of people or the public in general has access, including transit facilities like bus or train terminals, apartments, schools, highways, businesses, theatres, neighborhoods, or prisons. Essentially, you can face criminal charges for disorderly conduct if you use abusive or coarse language with the purpose of causing offense or with a disregard for the potential to offend others.
One possible way to fight a disorderly conduct charge in New Jersey is through a plea negotiation with the prosecutor. A disorderly conduct charge in NJ is a petty disorderly persons offense which results in a permanent criminal charge on your record if convicted along with a $500 fine, up to 30 days in county jail, and possible probation.
If you have no prior record, the prosecutor may consider downgrading (amending) this criminal charge to a local ordinance (borough ordinance) violation which results in a fine and no criminal record. This is similar to a littering ticket or a noise complaint for having a party at your home. This is a great result in a case where you are facing a permanent record and significant punishment.
Need Attorney for Disorderly Conduct Charge NJ? Contact Us Now
Since disorderly conduct is far-reaching in its scope, this charge can be used to apply to a broad range of conduct. If you are at risk of a disorderly conduct conviction, contact our experienced New Jersey disorderly conduct defense lawyers for a free consultation. We can explain possible defenses that may apply to your case. Call 201-556-1571 for more information.
How To Beat Disorderly Conduct Charges In NJ – Part #1.
How To Fight Disorderly Conduct Charges In NJ – Part #2.
Top 5 Ways To Beat Any Criminal Charge
Disorderly Conduct In NJ – Information Regarding Penalties and Defense
Disorderly Persons Offenses In NJ – Information Regarding Penalties and Defense
Petty Disorderly Persons Offenses In New Jersey
Our Written Page On Disorderly Persons