“The penalties for disorderly conduct, a petty disorderly persons offense, may include up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine in New Jersey.”
Misdemeanor Criminal Charge for NJSA 2C:33-2(a) – Disorderly Conduct NJ
The majority of people charged with Disorderly Conduct in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2 are surprised to find out how serious this offense is under New Jersey law. Charges for disorderly conduct can arise under a wide variety of circumstances, such as fights in bars, scuffles at stadiums, loud arguments in a public, offensive language, and other behavior that police deem “improper.”
This video gives you the majority of the information that you need if you’ve been charged with a disorderly conduct offense in New Jersey. It covers the penalties for disorderly conduct which include fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal charge, and also directs you to some of the ways you can fight these charges.
Penalties for Disorderly Conduct in New Jersey, a petty disorderly persons offense, can include the following:
- A permanent criminal charge on your record
- A $500 fine
- Up to 30 days in the county jail
Disorderly conduct is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense under New Jersey law. These terms sound similar, but to keep them straight, remember that disorderly conduct is a particular type of prohibited behavior, whereas a “disorderly persons” or “petty disorderly persons” offense is a broader category similar to the categories of infractions or criminal misdemeanors in other states.
As you can see from above, petty disorderly persons offenses like disorderly conduct can be punished by a fine of several hundred dollars and multiple weeks in jail. It may also take years for you to be eligible to have the offense expunged from your record.
What Should I do Charged with Disorderly Conduct in New Jersey?
If you are charged disorderly conduct in New Jersey, you should contact a dedicated criminal defense attorney without further delay. The criminal defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm LLC represent clients charged with the petty disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) of disorderly conduct (N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2(a)) throughout NJ including in Hoboken, Morristown, East Rutherford, and New Brunswick. Our lawyers are familiar with all types of defense strategies in these cases including a “carry order,” downgrade to a municipal ordinance violation, the conditional dismissal program in NJ, and more ways to avoid the punishments for these charges. Contact our lawyers now for a free initial consultation at 201-556-1570.
For more information on disorderly conduct in NJ, click on the following links:
Disorderly Persons Offenses In NJ – Information Regarding Penalties and Defense
Petty Disorderly Persons Offenses In New Jersey