NJ Unlawful Possession of Handguns – N.J.S. 2C:39-5b – What are the penalties for Unlawful Possession of Handguns in NJ
“Unlawful Possession of a handgun in New Jersey is punished by a very serious legal statute. Those convicted of these charges are facing significant jail time, with long mandatory minimum sentences.”
If you’ve been arrested for a gun charge in New Jersey, you are unfortunately facing some of the most serious gun laws in the country. For even the possession of an Airsoft gun you are facing 5-10 years in prison.
Luckily, the laws don’t get any more serious for a real gun… oddly enough even if that gun happens to be an assault rifle. Sometimes the law doesn’t really make sense, and in these cases it’s even more important to protect yourself when you end up on the wrong side of the legal system. Any firearms offense in New Jersey carries a minimum of 5 years in state prison with 10 years being the maximum.
Illegal possession of handguns in NJ is highly frowned upon since handguns can easily be concealed. The process to legally obtain a handgun in NJ is far more stringent than even powerful shotguns. Typically handgun charges are either second or third degree charges. Third degree charges are reserved for air and spring related handguns (BB, or airsoft guns) with second degree charges involving guns that shoot “real bullets.” The following excerpt from the NJ Weapons Statute clarifies:
b. Handguns. Any person who knowingly has in his possession any handgun, including any antique handgun, without first having obtained a permit to carry the same is guilty of a crime of the third degree if the handgun is in the nature of an air gun, spring gun or pistol or other weapon of a similar nature in which the propelling force is a spring, elastic band, carbon dioxide, compressed or other gas or vapor, air or compressed air, or is ignited by compressed air, and ejecting a bullet or missile smaller than three-eighths of an inch in diameter, with sufficient force to injure a person. Otherwise it is a crime of the second degree.
The Tormey Law firm has a series of advanced defense strategies for gun charges and we have implemented these defenses with great success in New Jersey. Please watch our video series on “How to Beat Gun Charges” and feel free call us to discuss the specific details of your case: (201) 556-1571.
Additional details on sentencing in gun charges:
Usually, on a 5 year offense, an offender will be eligible for parole in about a year to a year and a half. Unfortunately, due to the Graves Act, there is a minimum of three years that must be served without parole on a gun charge. The Graves Act basically establishes the minimum mandatory sentence on NJ gun charges. If arrested and convicted for a gun charge in NJ, you can expect to spend at least three years in state prison.
Now, that’s not always the case. There are ways around these minimum mandatory sentences. However, you are going to have to have your attorney apply for a Graves Act Waiver, and go through a fairly complicated process in order to “de-mandatorize” the sentence. If you are successful in having this waiver granted, you might be able to garner a 3 year mandatory prison sentence with a one year minimum of time served before parole. This is a good result considering that you would be sparing yourself 2 years in state prison, but let’s be honest… no one wants to spend a year behind bars.
Likewise, in the case of an out-of-state resident who brings a legally purchased and owned handgun into the state without knowing the weapons are illegal in New Jersey, they may still be prosecuted under the Graves Act for illegal possession of a firearm and sentenced to 42 months in state prison, unless they qualify for the Pre-trial Intervention program that allows first-time offenders to divert to resourced programs for rehabilitation rather than conviction, or their attorney successfully negotiates a deal to reduce the charges to avoid unjust punishment.
When is it Legal to Possess a Handgun in NJ?
Ordinary, non-assault type rifles (non-military grade), and other guns are legal to purchase in New Jersey with a purchasing permit and firearms buyer identification card, which requires individuals to undergo the gun permit application process, including a background check and fingerprints, and providing certain personal identifying information to the state. Police departments also require you to consent to a mental health records check in order to qualify to own a firearm. A person in New Jersey may be able to get a gun purchaser’s permit, so long as the applicant has no criminal convictions that disqualify them from owning or possessing a weapon (certain persons), no substance addictions, no previous mental illness requiring institutionalization (unless provided with a clean bill of mental health by a licensed professional), and no physical disability that would make owning a firearm dangerous.
Notably, getting a permit to purchase a firearm does not mean you can carry it in New Jersey. In order to do that, outside of certain allowed circumstances, you must obtain a handgun carry permit and show a justifiable need to keep such a weapon on your person. An experienced New Jersey gun permit attorney on our team can help you position yourself for the best result when seeking any type of permit like this in NJ.
Call The Tormey Law Firm for a free consultation with experienced criminal defense attorneys, and current NJ prosecutors.
New Jersey’s strict gun laws can land a person charged with a firearm in prison for a long time. As strict as the Graves Act convictions are, probation or reduced sentences may be available for those with no prior involvement with criminal activity or firearms violations, but each case’s total circumstances are considered in granting either. Do not take a chance on fighting a weapons charge on your own. Our experienced weapons defense attorneys know how to deal with the prosecutors and can defend your rights, examining the legitimacy of the arrest and evidence gathering in your case.
We can help you decide and pursue your best strategies and options, whether your charges originated in Essex County, Bergen County, Morris County, Passaic County, Middlesex County, or anywhere else in the state. Call (201)-556-1570 for a free consultation to learn more.