Fighting Prostitution Charges in NJ
Criminal Defense Lawyers with offices in Hackensack, New Jersey
A prostitution offense in New Jersey can have serious consequences (especially if this is not your first time). On a second prostitution charge in NJ, your disorderly persons (misdemeanor) charge is enhanced and becomes a fourth degree felony offense punishable by 18 months in state prison and a permanent felony conviction on your record.
The criminal defense lawyers at the Tormey Law Firm LLC represent clients charged with sex crimes including sexual assault, endangering the welfare of a child, lewdness, and criminal sexual contact in Morristown, Newark, Hackensack, and Paterson. In fact, our criminal defense trial team is composed of former county prosecutors who used to prosecute these offenses for the State of NJ. Now, let them put their experience and expertise to work to develop a comprehensive defense strategy in court. Contact our offices now for immediate assistance at 201-556-1570. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.
Information on Prostitution Charges in NJ
Prostitution is considered a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey which is a misdemeanor. It will be handled in the local municipal court in the county in which you are charged.
With no prior-record, there is a presumption of non-incarceration therefore you will almost never be sentenced to jail time. If this is also the case, we can negotiate a downgrade to some non-criminal offense or to another criminal offense such as disorderly conduct which will look a lot better on your record.
Promoting prostitution is a fourth degree felony crime in New Jersey which includes up to eighteen (18) months in New Jersey state prison if convicted in addition to the permanent felony charge on your record.
Prostitution involving anyone under the age of 18 can be charged as human trafficking in NJ which is a first degree offense punishable by up to 20 years in prison.
Click Here to Learn About Promoting Prostitution Charges