Charged with Underage Possession of Alcohol NJ?
Disorderly Persons Offenses handled by the Tormey Law Firm
Underage possession of alcohol is a disorderly persons (misdemeanor) criminal charge which is punishable by fines, jail time, a permanent criminal record, and a suspension of your NJ driving privileges if convicted. Our attorneys have literally handled thousands of these cases over the years and are ready and able to fight these charges for you in court.
Travis J. Tormey is an experienced defense attorney who serves on behalf of clients facing a vast array of charges, ranging from DWI to kidnapping and assault crimes. With centrally located offices in Paramus and Morristown, he appears in courts throughout Northern New Jersey, including Palisades Park, Mahwah, and Lyndhurst. Having represented clients in such a wide variety of cases, Mr. Tormey has specifically formulated tactics to combat charges such as underage possession of a fake ID, DWI, and underage possession of alcohol.
Mr. Tormey’s practice concentrates on criminal law, which has facilitated him in developing a breadth of knowledge in the area of criminal defense. This repository of information regarding New Jersey law enables him to identify the nuances involved in each case and thus, to best represent his clients. In fact, Mr. Tormey has been cited as a legal resource in a number of publications, including The Daily Record and The Bergen Record, as well as the AOL News. Feel free to contact him at his office at (201) 556-1570, as he provides free legal consultations.
Underage Possession of Alcohol – N.J. 2C:33-15
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, the New Jersey statute which governs criminal offenses for Underage Possession of Alcohol:
a. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense, and shall be fined not less than $500.00.
b. Whenever this offense is committed in a motor vehicle, the court shall, in addition to the sentence authorized for the offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privilege of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
Penalties for Underage Possession of Alcohol NJ
As the above statute indicates, Underage Possession of Alcohol offenses are classified as disorderly persons offenses, which are punishable by penalties including:
- A sentence to serve up to 6 months in the county jail
- A fine ranging from $500.00 to $1,000.00
- A permanent charge on the defendant’s criminal record (in some cases, these may be expunged following a 5-year waiting period)
NOTE: Underage Possession of Alcohol offenses committed in a motor vehicle are also punishable by a 6-month period of license suspension upon conviction.
I received a Summons for Underage Alcohol Possession NJ – Contact Us Today
For a young person facing this type of charge, it is extremely important to avoid a permanent charge on your criminal record, as this can significantly impact future employment and educational opportunities. With an experienced criminal defense attorney serving on your behalf, you are positioning yourself to ensure the best possible resolution. Contact The Tormey Law Firm, LLC. today to consult with Mr. Tormey about your case (201)-556-1570.