Second Degree Crimes In NJ – Punishments for Second Degree Crimes New Jersey – Penalties for second degree crimes
“What are the Penalties and Punishments For Second Degree Crimes in NJ?”
Second degree crimes are very serious in New Jersey. They exist with a presumption of incarceration, which means that even if this is your first criminal offense and you have a completely clean record, it’s expected that you will do some time in state prison. Obviously, it’s a good idea to fight against these crimes by hiring a team of aggressive criminal defense attorneys.
Second degree crimes in NJ are punishable by 5 to 10 years in state prison and fines of up to $150,000.
Some of the most common second degree crimes are the following:
- Drug distribution – Large drug distribution crimes might be considered first degree. Lower amounts are second degree crimes.
- Robbery – Armed robbery is a first degree crime, other robbery charges may be second degree.
- Aggravated assault – Major assault charges are second degree crimes, lesser assaults are third degree crimes.
- Shoplifting – Most shoplifting is either a third or fourth degree crime. Second degree charges have a value of over $75,000 in stolen goods.
If you’ve been charged with second degree crime, we would be happy to talk to you about your case. Feel free to call the Tormey Law firm for a free consultation (201) 556-1571