Hoboken Third Degree Aggravated Assault Attorneys
Criminal Defense Lawyers in Hudson County, New Jersey
Have you been charged with felony aggravated assault in Hoboken? We can help. Our lawyers have literally defended thousands of clients facing assault charges over the years with great success. Here is a real aggravated assault case our lawyers successfully handled for one of our clients.
The criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm recently achieved a great outcome for a client who was charged with third degree crimes by getting the charges downgraded to a local ordinance violation. Our client was initially facing very serious charges: third degree aggravated assault pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b(2), third degree possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:39-4d, and fourth degree unlawful possession of a weapon pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5d. But, the criminal defense team at the Tormey Law Firm scored a huge victory for the client: the charges were amended to Hoboken Local Ordinance 145-1, disturbing the peace.
Our client allegedly assaulted a bouncer at Texas Arizona in Hoboken, New Jersey, by hitting the bouncer in the face with a glass, but after analyzing the evidence and pointing out weaknesses in the case, the prosecutor agreed to downgrade the charge to Hoboken Local Ordinance Section 145-1, which states, “no person shall make or assist in making any improper noise, riot, disturbance or breach of the peace in the streets or elsewhere within the City, and no persons shall collect in bodies or crowds for idle or unlawful purposes to the annoyance or disturbance of citizens or travelers.”
Although the client pleaded guilty to the ordinance violation, that is far better than pleading guilty to the alleged criminal offense because now the client has not been convicted of any criminal offense and there will be no criminal conviction noted on a criminal conviction background check.
Arrested for Aggravated Assault in Hoboken? Contact Us For Help
Additionally, the client avoided the strict penalties Under New Jersey’s sentencing guidelines for third and fourth degree crimes. Pursuant to New Jersey’s criminal code, the client was facing up to three to five years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines for the third degree crimes and up to eighteen months in prison and $10,000 in fines for the fourth degree crime. But, as a result of the amended charge of the local ordinance violation, the client was fined only $500 and now does not have a criminal record associated with the alleged incident.
In addition, under New Jersey law, the client is eligible to expunge the arrest from his record in two (2) years. Once the expungement is filed and granted, then the entire incident is removed from our client’s record and it’s like nothing ever happened.
If you are alleged to have committed criminal offenses such as aggravated assault or unlawful possession of a weapon, contact the criminal defense team at the Tormey Law Firm to discuss your case.