NJ DWI and DUI Defense Lawyer
“We are highly experienced in DWI defense. Our firm can potentially beat your charges using our advanced DWI defense system.”
DWI Attorneys with offices in Hackensack, Newark, Morristown, New Brunswick
A DWI charge, though not a criminal offense in New Jersey, can result in a vast array of harsh penalties, including jail time. The inconvenience of a long drivers license suspension is oppressive. The fines are steep, and there are added $1,000 per year DMV surcharges. Believe it or not, DWI charges have been estimated to cost people nearly $7,000 when all is said and done, and this is without considering the ignition interlock device or time at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Fortunately, all of these New Jersey DWI Penalties can potentially be avoided if you’re ready to fight your case. We have created our own advanced DWI defense system that we use to beat these charges, and you can find that series by clicking here.
The Tormey Law firm is a team of New Jersey DWI attorneys with current New Jersey prosecutors on staff, fighting on your behalf. We have handles thousands of DWI cases, and our advanced DWI defense strategies have allowed us to win many of them.
This page is designed to teach you how to beat your DWI and to answer any questions that you might have about New Jersey DWI charges. The first section below is a video series which highlights a few of the strategies that we will use to fight your case. Afterwards, we have an list of DWI “FAQ’s” which can answer any other questions you might have.
The following pages highlight our a few of our advanced DWI defense strategies:
How to fight DWI Charges #1: Challenge the Initial Motor Vehicle Stoppage
How to fight DWI Charges #2: Challenge the Field Sobriety Tests
How to fight DWI Charges #3: Challenge the 20 Minute Observation Period
How to fight DWI Charges #4: Challenge the Alcotest 7110 machine itself
The following pages can answer a number of questions that you might have about your DWI charges.
What are the penalties for DWI charges in New Jersey on a first offense, second offense, or third offense?
Can I fight DWI Refusal Charges NJ 39:4-50.4a? – Refusal charges pertain to anyone who refuses to take a breath test when suspected of DWI. These cases are harder to beat from a normal DWI case, but we have specific ways to fight a DWI refusal.
Are there DWI work or Temporary Licenses in NJ? – This question arises from individuals who know they might lose their license, but want to maintain the ability to commute to their jobs.
Can I appeal my DUI or DWI case? – If you’ve already been convicted for DWI charges in NJ, there are ways that you can fight your conviction.
Can I expunge my DUI or DWI conviction? – Many people want to “erase” their DWI convictions after the fact, and eliminate any record of the occurrence.
Can I represent myself in a DUI or DWI case? – A lot of people are tempted to represent themselves when fighting their own DWI case. There are a number of reasons why you might want to reconsider.
Can I do community service instead of suffering normal DWI Penalties? – Many people would rather suffer on a roadside, picking up trash, than have their licenses suspended.
Do I need an attorney for my DUI or DWI case? – No one “needs” a DWI attorney, but you should get one if you want to beat your case.
Does a local lawyer help in a New Jersey DWI case? – Local lawyers have relationships with local judges and prosecutors, but does that really help in your case?
How do I restore my driver’s license after DWI? – Once you’ve suffered through your penalties, you will need to get your drivers license back. Just because your suspension period is over doesn’t mean that you have the right to drive, and you need to treat this process carefully.
What is “Driving Under The Influence”? – What does the term actually mean, and is it different from Driving While Intoxicated.
Will I lose my license after DWI in NJ? – This certainly could be the case, the real question becomes, “How can I avoid my loss of license.”
DUI vs DWI – What’s the difference? – The title of this page is fairly self explanatory.
What is DWI And Reckless Endangerment? – This charge typically applies to DWI charges in which you have other individuals in your car, especially children.
What are DWI blood tests and how can I fight them? – Blood tests are one way to prove intoxication, other than breath testing. There are loopholes that apply to blood tests that don’t apply to other charges.
DWI Insurance Premiums, Spikes, and Surcharges – This page highlights the estimated changes in insurance costs that you will experience after DWI charges.
What are Federal DUI charges? – Any time your DWI occurs on Federal property, your charges will be tried in front of a Federal Magistrate… a number of things change.
What are field sobriety tests and can i fight them? – The field sobriety tests are a standard means to establish probable cause for a breath test; even these tests can be challenged.
Should I plead guilty to my DWI charges? – No, and this page tells you why.
How do I fight DUI Checkpoints? – DWI checkpoints have to be conducted while following a number of rules and guidelines. If any of thee rules are broken, the checkpoint is unconstitutional and any arrests should be thrown out.
What happens if I was arrested for DWI after an accident? – Typically, these circumstances will be punished more severely, and potentially with additional charges.
What is the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center NJ or “IDRC”? – New Jersey’s Drunk Driving education program is one of the penalties for a DWI in New Jersey.
Is DWI or DUI a criminal charge in NJ? – A DWI is a traffic offense, though it could theoretically put you in jail.
What happens if I have multiple DUI or DWI charges in New Jersey? – Second and Third DWI charges will each have steeper penalties than those preceeding.
What happens if I’m from another state and I was arrested for DWI in New Jersey? – Out of state DWI charges might end up following you back to your home state, but that all depends on where you’re from.
Can I dispute the state’s “Proof Of Intoxication”? – There are a number of ways that the state can attempt to “prove” that you were intoxicated. There are just as many ways for us to dispute the proof against you.
Should I hire the cheapest attorney? – There are a number of things of which you should be aware before hiring the cheapest attorney for your case.
Should I tell my boss about my DWI? – There are a couple of things to take into consideration before making this decision.
What are the different stages of a DWI case? – This page gives you some insight on what to expect throughout your DWI case.
What is the Ignition Interlock Device? – This device uses breath testing to determine whether or not you are sober enough to drive your car.
What happens if the police didn’t read my Miranda rights? – Will your case be thrown out? Visit this page to find out.
What happens if I was arrested for underage DUI or DWI in New Jersey? – You can expect slightly different penalties for a DWI if you are under the age of 21.
Why Is It Important To Hire A Lawyer for DWI charges? – There are so many ways that we can fight your DWI case. DWI law is a highly specialized field, and attorneys experienced in this field have a huge advantage in court.