“Even a first-time offender faces severe penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey. Need a lawyer for a DWI in Fort Lee? We can help.”
Arrested for a first time DWI in Fort Lee? We can help you. Contact us now for a free initial consultation.
Travis J. Tormey and the Tormey Law Firm recently defended a client against first offense DWI charges in Fort Lee, New Jersey.The client was pulled over by police in Fort Lee, NJ. The client then took a breath test and allegedly registered a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of higher than .08 percent. Unfortunately for the client, the legal limit in New Jersey is . 08 percent BAC.
As a result, the client faced significant penalties, including: suspension of driver’s license for 3 months, a fine of $400, surcharges from the MVC totaling $3,000, and mandatory alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Mr. Tormey appeared in Fort Lee Municipal Court to represent the client. The Tormey Law Firm utilizes the services of a retired New Jersey State Trooper who used to teach classes at the police academy. This was extremely useful in the case because our firm’s Alcotest expert was able to challenge the accuracy of the breath test reading. Mr. Tormey managed to convince both the prosecutor and the judge that the breath test reading could have been .07 percent BAC, which is below the legal limit. Mr. Tormey’s skill and persuasion led to the DWI charge being dismissed. Our client ultimately pleaded to an insignificant careless driving violation and was able to avoid the most severe penalties for a DWI charge.
1st Offense DWI Charges in Fort Lee NJ – Need a Lawyer
This outcome represented a great result for the client and a major success for the Tormey Law Firm.