Allegations of Endangering the Welfare of a Child in New Jersey
A Felony Charge – Allegations of Abuse or Neglect
Endangering the Welfare of a Child can be graded as a 2nd or 3rd degree crime in New Jersey. On a 2nd degree level, the defendant is facing 5-10 years in New Jersey state prison. There is also a presumption of incarceration meaning even with no prior record, it is presumed the defendant will face the minimum prison sentence.
A 3rd degree crime includes 3-5 years in New Jersey state prison and a presumption of non-incarceration for first-time offenders. Even convicted, it is presumed you will be a good candidate for probation with no prior record.
There is also a child abuse down grade which results in no criminal record because it is not governed by the criminal code statutes. Depending on the case and the variables at hand, we can work to bring these charges down.