Possession of a Fake ID Charges in New Jersey
Bergen County Criminal Lawyers with offices in Hackensack, New Jersey
A common offense that we handle at the Tormey Law Firm is young people who are caught with a Fake ID and charged with a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor) for that. This can include fines, jail time, a permanent criminal record, and a driver’s license suspension if convicted of this offense.
Travis J. Tormey is an experienced defense attorney who serves on behalf of clients facing a vast array of charges, ranging from DWI to aggravated assault. With centrally located offices in Hackensack and Morristown, he appears in courts throughout Northern New Jersey, including Paramus, Lodi, and Palisades Park. Having represented clients in such a wide variety of cases, Mr. Tormey has specifically formulated tactics to combat charges such as underage possession of alcohol, underage DWI, and possession of a fake ID.
Mr. Tormey’s practice concentrates on criminal law, which has facilitated him in developing a breadth of knowledge in the area of criminal defense. This repository of information regarding New Jersey law enables him to identify the nuances involved in each case and thus, to best represent his clients. In fact, Mr. Tormey has been cited as a legal resource in a number of publications, including The Daily Record and The Bergen Record, as well as the AOL News. Feel free to contact him at his office at (201) 556-1570, as he provides free legal consultations.
Possession of a Fake ID: N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7
Offenses involving the possession of a fake ID are governed under N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7, the statute known as Tampering with Public Records or Information.
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7:
a. Offense defined. A person commits an offense if he:
(1) Knowingly makes a false entry in, or false alteration of, any record, document or thing belonging to, or received or kept by, the government for information or record, or required by law to be kept by others for information of the government;
(2) Makes, presents, offers for filing, or uses any record, document or thing knowing it to be false, and with purpose that it be taken as a genuine part of information or records referred to in paragraph (1); or
(3) Purposely and unlawfully destroys, conceals, removes, mutilates, or otherwise impairs the verity or availability of any such record, document or thing.
b. Grading. An offense under subsection a. is a disorderly persons offense unless the actor’s purpose is to defraud or injure anyone, in which case the offense is a crime of the third degree.
c. A person commits a crime of the fourth degree if he purposely and unlawfully alters, destroys, conceals, removes or disables any camera or other monitoring device including any videotape, film or other medium used to record sound or images that is installed in a patrol vehicle.
Possession of a Fake ID: Potential Penalties
Possession of a Fake ID is typically classified as a disorderly persons offense, unless one of the aforementioned circumstances applies. In New Jersey, disorderly persons offenses are punishable by penalties including:
- A sentence to serve up to 6 months in the county jail
- A fine of up to $1,000.00
- A permanent charge on the defendant’s criminal record (in some cases, these may be expunged following a 5-year waiting period).
Finding Representation for Your Underage Possession of a Fake ID Case
For a young person facing this type of charge, it is extremely important to avoid a permanent charge on your criminal record, as this can significantly impact future employment and educational opportunities. With an experienced criminal defense attorney serving on your behalf, you are positioning yourself to ensure the best possible resolution. Contact The Tormey Law Firm, LLC. today to consult with Mr. Tormey about your case (201)-556-1570.