Eluding a Police Officer Charges
Contact the Tormey Law Firm with offices in Newark, NJ
Do you need a lawyer for eluding a police officer felony charge in New Jersey? Contact us now for immediate assistance.
The criminal trial team at the Tormey Law Firm only handles criminal cases, and thousands of them. Our lawyers have handled charges for eluding police in almost every county in northern NJ and we are here to assist you. We have private investigators who can look into the evidence and see if any other evidence may exist (such as camera footage or witnesses) to show that you did not in fact elude a police officer or intend to do so. This can be crucial to your case to get the case dismissed, keep your record clean, and keep you out of jail.
Eluding Charges – What am I facing?
Eluding is a serious felony charge in New Jersey which will be graded as a second or third degree crime depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense. A second degree eluding charge, the more serious of the two, requires a risk of serious injury or death to the public (including any law enforcement officers). There are a number of ways that you can fight and beat eluding charges in New Jersey. The police have to prove that you intended to elude them. This means, they must have made their attempt to arrest you abundantly clear. In addition, plea negotiations and the pre-trial intervention program can be used to keep you out of jail, and keep you safe from a criminal record.
To learn about the penalties that you might be facing for eluding charges, you should watch our video on second degree eluding charges or third degree eluding charges in NJ.
For more ways that you can potentially beat ANY criminal charge in New Jersey, click here to read our Top 5 Ways to Beat Criminal Charges… you will feel better about any level of case that you’re facing.
You could be facing jail time depending on the nature of the charge and any prior criminal history you have. A third degree eluding charge is punishable by 3-5 years in state prison. A second degree eluding charge is punishable by 5-10 years in prison. You may be eligible for a first offender program depending on the degree of your charges and your criminal history (if any).