NJ Simple Assault Charges 2C:12-1
Simple assault NJ – Simple Assault NJ Penalties – Simple Assault NJ Punishments – NJ Simple assault charges 2C:12-1
“This video on NJ simple assault Charges 2C:12-1 gives you up to date information about your charge. The information following the video gives you some other info including ways to beat NJ simple assault charges.”
Videos on How to Beat Assault Charges Are Listed Below
In New Jersey, simple assault is considered a violent crime. These cases need to be handled carefully in order to secure the best possible outcome.
Simple assault typically refers to a fight or an attack in which one party sustains mild injuries and charges are pressed against the alleged attacker. While it’s on the lower end of violent crimes, if you are charged with simple assault, it can result in a punishment of six (6) months in jail, in addition to other penalties outlined below.
That said, hiring an attorney to handle simple assault charges can drastically reduce the penalties against you, as well as potentially leading to a dismissal of the charges instead of a permanent criminal record.
The Tormey Law Firm is a team of aggressive criminal defense attorneys, including an active NJ prosecutor, and we are dedicated to providing the best possible defense against your charge. We’ve got extensive experience handling assault charges, including simple assault, aggravated assault, and domestic violence.
Additionally, we have a series of advanced defense strategies that we use, some of which can be seen in our video series on “How to Beat Assault Charges.”
Feel free to call us for a free consultation, and continue reading this page to learn more about simple assault charges in New Jersey.
Simple assault is a disorderly persons criminal offense in New Jersey and is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a). A person can be guilty of simple assault if he or she causes bodily injury to another person or if he or she merely threatens to cause bodily injury to another person.
Classified as a disorderly persons offense, simple assault carries with it penalties of up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00. If the charge is downgraded to a petty disorderly persons offense, it can still can result in stiff penalties of ninety (90) days in jail and a fine as high as $500.00. In either case, a conviction for assault can permanently tarnish your criminal record. Good luck trying to explain an assault conviction to your friends, your family, and your co-workers.
“Call the New Jersey criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm for a free consultation about your simple assault charge.”
We know how to fight your charge, and we can help you to avoid simple assault penalties. With experienced criminal defense attorneys and a current New Jersey prosecutor on staff, we have the strategies that can lead to a win in the courtroom.
Give us a call and we will immediately begin to look through the specific details of your file and formulate a winning strategy that will work for you.
Assault Defense Strategies:
Other Assault Information
N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a) – Simple Assault Statute
A person is guilty of simple assault if he or she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense unless committed in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense.