TJT The Tormey Law Firm Criminal Defense Attorneys

Client Reviews

First Offense DWI Penalties In NJ

First Offense DWI Penalties In NJ – First Offense DWI NJ – What are the penalties for first offense DWI in NJ?

Alcotest 7110 Certified DWI Defense Lawyers with offices in Hackensack, Morristown, Newark NJ

“What are the penalties for a first offense DWI in New Jersey?”

The first level of DWI punishment is for BAC levels of 0.08% to 0.10%.  If your blood alcohol is in this range, you face

  • Fines of $250- $400
  • Jail time of up to 30 days
  • Loss of driver’s license for three months
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 12-48 hours
  • Ignition Interlock device for 6 months to 1 year

The next level of punishment exists for all BAC levels above .10% during a first offense.  For these you face:

  1. Fines of $300 to $500
  2. Jail time of up to 30 days
  3. Loss of driver’s license for seven months to one year
  4. Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 12-48 hours
  5. Mandatory Ignition Interlock device for 6 months to 1 year if BAC is 0.15% or above (in addition to the period of license suspension).

Be sure to watch our video series on How To Beat DWI Charges and Click Here For More Information On NJ DWI Charges

Remember, New Jersey does not have temporary or work licenses so if you lose your driving privileges, you lose them for whatever the period of your suspension is. In addition, if you have an out of state license, NJ can only suspend you in New Jersey. However, they will notify your home state and your license may get suspended in your home state once they are aware of your DWI in NJ.

Learn More About How to Fight Your Charges

If you've been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.

Experience You Can Trust

With unmatched knowledge and experience in the practice of law, the seasoned attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are committed to serving their clients and tenaciously confronting the allegations against them.

We will examine every facet of your case in order to defend your constitutional rights and reputation.  

With a dedicated legal advocate to assist you, our attorneys will ensure that you are never forced to navigate the complex legal process on your own.

The Tormey Law Firm

Areas We Serve

Bergen County, Essex County, Morris County, Passaic County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, Somerset County including Morristown, Denville, Dover, Mount Olive, Parsippany, Hackensack, East Rutherford, Elmwood Park, Englewood, Fort Lee, Garfield, Lodi, Lyndhurst, Mahwah, Palisades Park, Paramus, Ridgefield Park, Saddle Brook, Teaneck, Clifton, and Wayne.

Visa-Mastercard-Amex-Discover

Hackensack Location

254 State Street

Hackensack, NJ 07601

  (201) 556-1570    Directions

Morristown Location

55 Madison Avenue Suite 400

Morristown, NJ 07960

  (908) 336-5008    Directions