TJT The Tormey Law Firm Criminal Defense Attorneys

Intoxicated Driver Resource Center NJ “IDRC”

“What is the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or IDRC?”

“Videos on How to Fight DWI are listed below.”

The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center is an educational “program” which you will be forced to attend if convicted of DWI charges in New Jersey.  This program is designed to educate you about your actions and decisions with respect to drunk driving.

You will end up sitting in a class with a bunch of other convicted drunk drivers, you will watch movies on VHS filmed 15 years ago promoting alcohol awareness, and for all intents and purposes you will be bored into submission while already being perfectly aware of the error of your ways.  The following text is taken directly from the department of human services pertaining to IDRC:

HOW DOES THE PROGRAM APPLY TO ME?

If you have been convicted of an alcohol or drug-related traffic or boating offense in New Jersey or while driving in another State while holding a New Jersey driver’s license, you must satisfy the requirements of the Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP) and the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). These programs have two purposes: (1) to make our highways and waterways safer by educating drivers and boat operators about alcohol, drugs and their relation to motor vehicle and boating safety, and (2) to identify and treat those who need treatment for an alcohol or drug problem.

WHAT PROGRAM MUST I ATTEND AND WHERE IS IT?

If you are sentenced to a 12 hour IDRC program, you will be detained, educated, and screened for at least six hours each day on two consecutive days – a total of 12 hours – in your county IDRC. If you are sentenced to a 48 hour IDRC program, you will be detained, educated and screened during a period of 48 consecutive hours in a regional facility approved by your county. If you are sentenced as a third offender, the court may sentence you to jail or to an inpatient addictions treatment program or both. IDP will schedule you to appear at the 12-hour IDRC for follow up. You may be required to participate in additional treatment or self help. In all cases you must satisfy the program, fee, and treatment requirements of the IDP/IDRC. Failure to satisfy the program requirements may jeopardize the reinstatement of your driving privileges or extend the suspension period.

IF I DON’T LIVE IN NEW JERSEY, MUST I STILL COMPLY?

Yes. If you live within an hours driving distance of an IDRC in New Jersey, you will be scheduled to appear at the nearest New Jersey IDRC. If not, you will be given an opportunity to satisfy the requirements in your home state. The driving privilege restoration and related program fees must still be paid to Motor Vehicle Commission.

***A note from The Tormey Firm: please realize that New Jersey doesn’t have the abilty to suspend your license in your home state.  However, you will not be able to drive in New Jersey until you meet the IDRC requirements.***

WHAT IF I DON’T PARTICIPATE?

If you fail to appear at the IDRC or do not satisfactorily complete a prescribed treatment or self-help program or pay the fees on time, your license will be suspended indefinitely until IDP/IDRC requirements are satisfied. You may also be jailed two days due to program noncompliance.

WHAT HAPPENS AT THE IDRC?

You will pay the IDRC program fee and complete a questionnaire. You will attend a series of educational sessions and discussions. You will meet with a counselor for a personal screening interview.

WHAT DOES THE EDUCATION PROGRAM DO?

The education program, which is part of the 12- and 48- hour IDRC, contains information on social and problem drinking, stages of alcoholism, family and other relationships, alcohol and drugs and their effects on driving ability, and the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Law.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I HAVE BEEN DETAINED AND SCREENED?

You may be referred to a treatment program or self help group for alcohol or drug problems. If you are clinically determined to have a need for substance abuse treatment, you will need to complete a minimum of 16 weeks of treatment. The IDRC may require monitored treatment or self-help group attendance for a maximum of one year. You must complete this treatment as part of your sentence.

WHAT ABOUT MY DRIVER’S LICENSE?

Your driving privilege will be restored when you have satisfied all court and MVC-imposed suspensions and if you are in compliance with all IDRC requirements.

Assuming that you aren’t determined to have a substance abuse problem, you should be done with this program after a very painful weekend.  Also, please note that you’re going to have to pay a few fees just to participate in this program.

$100 dollar attendance fee paid to the Motor Vehicle Commission

$230 first offender fee paid to the IDRC

$280 dollar second offender fee paid to IDRCPay your fees, get through the classes, and put the IDRCin your past.  A better bet would be to battle your drunk driving charges from the beginning.  Here are some of the ways that we fight against drunk driving charges in court:

Challenge the Initial Motor Vehicle Stoppage
Challenge the Field Sobriety Tests
Challenge the 20 Minute Observation Period
Challenge the Alcotest 7110 machine itself

Learn More About How to Fight Your Charges

If you've been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.

Experience You Can Trust

With unmatched knowledge and experience in the practice of law, the seasoned attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are committed to serving their clients and tenaciously confronting the allegations against them.

We will examine every facet of your case in order to defend your constitutional rights and reputation.  

With a dedicated legal advocate to assist you, our attorneys will ensure that you are never forced to navigate the complex legal process on your own.

The Tormey Law Firm

Areas We Serve

Bergen County, Essex County, Morris County, Passaic County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, Somerset County including Morristown, Denville, Dover, Mount Olive, Parsippany, Hackensack, East Rutherford, Elmwood Park, Englewood, Fort Lee, Garfield, Lodi, Lyndhurst, Mahwah, Palisades Park, Paramus, Ridgefield Park, Saddle Brook, Teaneck, Clifton, and Wayne.

Visa-Mastercard-Amex-Discover

Hackensack Location

254 State Street

Hackensack, NJ 07601

  (201) 556-1570    Directions

Morristown Location

55 Madison Avenue Suite 400

Morristown, NJ 07960

  (908) 336-5008    Directions

Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.