TJT The Tormey Law Firm Criminal Defense Attorneys

Client Reviews

DWI Penalties In New Jersey

NJ DWI Penalties – What are the Penalties For DWI In New Jersey – DWI Penalties in New Jersey

This page highlights all of the penalties that you might face for DWI charges in New Jersey.

dwi penalties in New JerseyDWI penalties in New Jersey are based on two factors: How high was your BAC or “Blood Alcohol Content” and how many times have you been arrested for DWI in New Jersey?  The higher your BAC and the higher your number of DWI arrests, the more sever your penalties are going to be.

In reality, only first offense DWI penalties depend on your blood alcohol content.  After your first offense, the penalties become constant, regardless of your BAC.

Anything over a 0.8% Blood Alcohol Content is illegal.  That said, I’ve seen people tried and convicted for DWI with levels below 0.8%.  It’s hard to believe, but it happens.

The first level of DWI punishment is for BAC levels of 0.08% to 0.10%.  If your blood alcohol is in this range, you face:

  1. Fines of $250- $400
  2. Jail time of up to 30 days
  3. Loss of driver’s license for three months
  4. Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 12-48 hours
  5. Ignition Interlock device for 6 months to 1 year

The next level of punishment exists for all BAC levels above .10% during a first offense.  For these you face:

  1. Fines of $300 to $500
  2. Jail time of up to 30 days
  3. Loss of driver’s license for seven months to one year
  4. Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for 12-48 hours
  5. Mandatory Ignition Interlock device for 6 months to 1 year if BAC is 0.15% or above (in addition to the period of license suspension.)

Second offense DWI Penalties in New Jersey

Again, if you’re being arrested for a second time, your BAC doesn’t matter.  Anything over 0.08% and you’re facing the same punishment:

0.08% and above BAC:

  1.  Fines of $500 to $1,000
  2.  Jail time of up to 90 days
  3.  Loss of driver’s license for two (2) years
  4.  IDRC for 48 hours
  5.  Community service for 30 days
  6.  Mandatory interlock device for 1 to 3 years (in addition to period of license suspension).

Third Offense DWI Penalties in New Jersey

These are the penalties for a third DWI offense in NJ at a BAC level of 0.08% and above:

  1.  Fines totaling $1,000
  2.  Jail time for 180 days
  3.  Loss of driver’s license for ten (10) years
  4.  IDRC is determined on a case-by-case basis
  5.  Mandatory interlock device for 1 to 3 years (in addition to the period of license suspension)

Click here to go back to our main DWI page, where you can learn How To Beat DWI Charges and answer any other questions that you might have about DWI  in New Jersey.

The Tormey Law Firm is a team of New Jersey DWI Attorneys, including a current prosecutor, fighting on y0ur behalf.  We fight cases with our intention being to win, not to take deals.  For more information please call our office for a free consultation about your case.

Learn More About How to Fight Your Charges

If you've been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.

Experience You Can Trust

With unmatched knowledge and experience in the practice of law, the seasoned attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are committed to serving their clients and tenaciously confronting the allegations against them.

We will examine every facet of your case in order to defend your constitutional rights and reputation.  

With a dedicated legal advocate to assist you, our attorneys will ensure that you are never forced to navigate the complex legal process on your own.

The Tormey Law Firm

Areas We Serve

Bergen County, Essex County, Morris County, Passaic County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, Somerset County including Morristown, Denville, Dover, Mount Olive, Parsippany, Hackensack, East Rutherford, Elmwood Park, Englewood, Fort Lee, Garfield, Lodi, Lyndhurst, Mahwah, Palisades Park, Paramus, Ridgefield Park, Saddle Brook, Teaneck, Clifton, and Wayne.


Hackensack Location

254 State Street

Hackensack, NJ 07601

  (201) 556-1570    Directions

Morristown Location

55 Madison Avenue Suite 400

Morristown, NJ 07960

  (908) 336-5008    Directions